Standards for concrete

BS 8110

BS 8110 - Structural use of concrete

BS 8110 is a code of practice for the structural use of concrete. The relevant committee of the British Standards Institute considers that there is no need to support BS 8110 as the Department for Communities and Local Government have indicated that Eurocode 2 is acceptable for design according to the Building Regulations.

The Concrete Centre has developed a full range of resources to assist designers with the transition.

BS 8297

Code of practice: Design, manufacture and installation of architectural precast concrete cladding

BS 8297 has long been the definitive standard for precast concrete cladding. In October 2017, following recent advances and innovations in the sector, a new updated version was published, with a new title: ‘Design, manufacture and installation of architectural precast concrete cladding’. The standard has been revised to account for changes in manufacturing techniques and product ranges introduced over the last 20 years.
The new standard provides comprehensive coverage of all types of precast cladding and architectural concrete elements of the outer skin of the building.

BS 8297 should be used by anyone involved with designing, reviewing and installing architectural precast concrete, because it thoroughly explains the processes, considerations and best practice. It is as valid for architects and principal contractors as it is for structural engineers, and also other members of a project team, including façade consultants, designers, manufacturers and installers.

The standard is available from BSI.

More information is available from MPA Precast at

BS 8500

BS 8500 is the British Standard for specifying and producing concrete. It is the complementary British Standard to BS EN 206. BS 8500 is split into two parts. Part 1 covers specification and gives guidance to the specifier. Part 2 covers the constituent materials in concrete and contains the information required by the concrete producer.

BS 8500-1:2015+A2:2019

The specifier is offered five approaches to the specification of concrete, with the standard describing the correct way of compiling specifications for designated, designed, prescribed, standardized prescribed, and proprietary concretes.

This part of BS 8500 gives detailed guidance for the specifier, including advice on exposure classes for durability, aggregate classes, intended working life and consistence etc., presented as a series of tables with accompanying explanatory text.

The latest amendment to BS 8500 allows the use of ternary cements, i.e. blends of three types of cementitious binder: Portland cement, limestone fines and one of ground granulated blast-furnace slag (ggbs), fly ash and pozzalana.

Please see our how-to guide on specifying concrete using BS 8500 here.

BS 8500-2:2015+A2:2019

BS 8500-2:2015 is intended for use by producers of concrete.

This part of BS 8500 specifies a number of basic requirements for concrete and its constituent materials, and gives specific requirements relating to the types of concrete listed in BS 8500-1. It also specifies requirements relating to delivery, conformity testing, production control and transport.

This Standard gives UK national provisions where required or permitted by BS EN 206, and also covers materials, methods of testing and procedures that are outside the scope of BS EN 206, but within UK national experience.

The requirements in this part of BS 8500 are given for defined materials with an established or accepted adequate performance in UK conditions.